Create a Release
Edit a Release
Delete a Release

Releases

Crystal Test allows you to assign test cases to a release. This allows you to see test results and other metrics based on a single release. This also allows locating test cases that belong to a release much easier. A release must be created in Crystal Test before a test case can be assigned to it.

Note: To keep Crystal Test flexible, releases and sprints are not automatically inclusive. Therefore if a test case belongs to both a sprint and a release, they will have to be assigned accordingly. Assigning a test case to a sprint will not automatically include it in a release or vice-versa. This gives each project the flexibility to use Crystal Test as desired. Some projects do not use Sprints. Likewise, some projects release every sprint, therefore not needing an extra release grouping or vice versa. This also allows for easy access to needed test cases in the event of a roll back.

Create a Release

To create a new release, follow these instructions:
  • Navigate to Admin --> Admin Releases
  • Choose the correct project that the release should belong to in the Project dropdown.
  • Click the Add icon next to the Project dropdown.

Add New Release
  • Fill in the Release Title field. This field can be no more than 30 characters in length.
  • Fill in the Release Date field. You can enter this field manually or by using the calendar popup.
  • Fill in the Release Description field.
  • Click the Add button.

Add New Release

Edit a Release

To edit an existing release, perform these steps:
  • Navigate to Admin --> Admin Releases
  • Choose the correct project that the release should belong to in the Project dropdown.
  • Locate the release you wish to edit and click the Edit icon in the Edit/Delete column.
  • Make the necessary changes and then click the Update button.

Note: Once a release is created, you cannot change the project it belongs to.

Delete a Release

To delete a release:
  • Navigate to Admin --> Admin Releases
  • Click the Delete icon next to the release you wish to delete.
  • Click OK on the confirmation screen to complete the release deletion.

Last edited Apr 2, 2014 at 5:58 PM by jacquelinewalton, version 3